140504 T-ARA’s Interview on Gossip Girls for Choa Nikkan Sports Magazine

T-ara will release their 3rd Japanese
Album Gossip Girls on May 14. We
interviewed them when they were in
Japan for one of their album promotion
activities at end March. Although there
are only 6 of them, they are confident
of their album which contained a lot of
original Japanese songs . The interview
talks on the album and their recent
personal lives .

Q : It is the 3rd album already . How is
it different from the previous works ?

Hyomin : T-ara ’s past works were
mainly based on the concept of
cuteness . This time it is based on the
image of a mature and elegant lady.
The recorded tunes range from
American Pop to House Music ; we
tried a variety of genres.

Soyeon : The CD Jacket was based on
the concept of an American celebrity
being photographed by paparazzi. We
also used the concept of student
uniforms . The feeling of photographing
this concept was fresh and we hope
our fans will be happy seeing it .

Q : What were your thoughts when the
theme was decided to be Gossip Girls ?

Boram : It feels a bit exciting doesn ’t
it ? Because it was something that we
had never done before , we were very
happy during the photo – shoot.

Q : Any songs in particular that you
like the most?

Soyeon : My favourite is Lead the Way .’
There is depth in the melody . Among
T-ara ’s Japanese songs , there aren ’t
many medium tempo songs . I like the
melody of this song very much .

Hyomin : I like ‘Lead the Way’ as well . I
think it is a song that shows the
charms of a lady. In the past , our
songs had been dance -centric . In this
song , we spent a lot of efforts focusing
on our singing . We hope everyone will
listen to it . I think I will want to listen
to it when I am at home too .

Boram : I like ‘Just Now’ for it ’ s
edginess . When you are not in a good
mood , listening to it helps to lift
your spirits .

Eunjung : I like ‘La ’BooN ’. It is a song
that raises the emotions when you
listen to it . Your mood will be
especially good when you listen to it
during exercising and driving .

Qri: I like ‘La’ BooN ’ too .

Jiyeon : ‘Keep On Walking ’ fits my
preference .

Q : When talking about Gossip Girls , T –
ara too had experienced some events
in the past that had stirred up
commotions . Which events made you
feel like you had overcame the
difficulties to become a better group?

Eunjung : We experienced changes in
some areas . It felt like growing up. The
most fun part is that when we see the
back -view of a member now, we can
know her mood for the day . We also
know when a member ’ s condition is
good or bad. Because we overcame the
difficulties together , even if we don ’ t
speak it out now, all of us can
understand it . I think of it this way.

Qri: When I suddenly feel lonely , the
people that I hope to be at my side are
the T-ara members. We meet a lot
privately to watch movies and go for
massages.

Q : On the flip – side, are there days
when you don ’ t feel like seeing each
other ?

Eunjung : At that time , we will say it
out directly and everyone will say “got
it .” ( laughs)

Q : Recently , any updates on individual
or anything that caught your interests ?

Jiyeon : Hyomin and I are preparing for
our solo activities in Korea. I am
working hard for it and everyone will
be able to see my individual style
during the solo. Although the stress is
more than the fun .

Eunjung : We have high hopes for you.
(laughs)

Soyeon : We have been receiving quite
a few fashion store invitations . I am
very happy that we can try out
different images / concepts .

Eunjung : I bought a bracelet made of
natural stones. It is said to be a Power
Stone and it is made up of stones with
different colours . I liked it a lot .

Hyomin : I am preparing for my solo
and working hard in practicing my
dance and learning . In my spare time , I
cook to relax. Recently , I made a pizza.

All : We want to eat it too . Make it for
us the next time .

Qri: I watch 3 movies a day and I am
hooked on thriller films.

Boram : I performed in a musical in
February and there were quite a few
Japanese fans that came to watch as
well . It was a good memory and I hope
there will be opportunities again to
perform in a musical.

Q: Any last messages?

Soyeon : Thank you to everyone for
always supporting us . We hope
everyone will listen to our album .
During the times that we can ’t meet ,
we are missing our Japanese fans too .

Eunjung : Our group activities in Korea
are going to begin too . Please look
forward to it .

Source : Choa Nikkan Sports Japanese
Magazine
Credit: tiaradiadem